Become a CLA Member

join iconBecome a member of CLA. Download, fill out and mail the PDF form on the Membership page or fill out our online form

CLA Awards

The Catholic Library Association honors excellence in scholarship, literature and librarianship through the bestowal of nationally recognized Association and Section awards. These awards as well as service and chapter awards are presented at the annual convention.

2015 Regina Medal Award Winner - Judy Blume

Author Judy Blume will receive the Regina Medal Award at a luncheon in her honor on April 8, 2015, at the CLA convention in Orlando, FL. Her books have sold over 85 million copies worldwide and many have been included on the New York Times bestseller list. She has received the Margaret A. Edwards Award for Lifetime Achievement by ALA, the Library of Congress Living Legends Award and the National Book Foundation’s Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters. Read her complete biohere.

2014 Regina Medal Winner - Patricia Reilly Giff

AVT Patricia-Reilly-Giff 240Author Patricia Reilly Giff received the Regina Medal Award at a luncheon in her honor on April 23, 2014, at the CLA convention in Pittsburgh, PA.  She is a two-time Newbery Honor winner:  Lily’s Crossing (Delacorte, 1997) was honored in 1998 and Pictures of Hollis Woods (Random House/Wendy Lamb Books, 2002) in 2003. She is also the author of the Polk Street School series for younger readers. Read her bio here.

Past Philip F. Neau Award Winners

2012: Jean Elvekrog

2010: Sally Ann Thompson

2008: Julanne Good

2014 Mary A. Grant Volunteer Award - Nancy K. Schmidtmann

IMG 9502Nancy K. Schmidtmann has been awarded the 2014 Mary A. Grant Service Award for her generous and tireless service to CLA at the national, section and chapter levels.  In addition to serving as CLA president from 2009-2011, she was also the Local Committee Chair for our 2012 Boston Convention, as well as helping us to revitalize the Brooklyn/Long Island Chapter.  Congratulations Nancy, we appreciate your continuous efforts to grow and improve CLA!  

Charlotte Decker Memorial Award

The Charlotte Decker Memorial Award is given annually to honor an outstanding member of the Children’s Library Services Section or the High School/Young Adult Library Services Section of the Catholic Library Association. The award consists of a complimentary ticket to either the Regina Medal luncheon or the opening awards dinner at the CLA annual conference. (The choice is the recipient’s.)