Charlotte Decker Award

Due to the transition to a Virtual Convention, the Charlotte Decker Award process is being reviewed. Once we have more information, it will be posted here.

The Charlotte Decker Memorial Award is given annually to honor an outstanding member of the Children’s Library Services Section or the High School/Young Adult Library Services Section of the Catholic Library Association. In past years, the award consists of a complimentary ticket to either the Regina Medal luncheon or the opening awards dinner at the CLA annual conference. (The choice is the recipient’s.)

Charlotte Decker, in whose honor the award is given, was a long-time member of both the Children’s Library Services Section and the High School/Young Adult Library Services Section. She was a wellspring of knowledge about children’s and young adult books. Her booktalks at national conferences, featuring the latest children’s and YA books, were always well-attended and benefited librarians as well as teachers.

Any member of CLSS or HS/YALSS can submit a nomination for the award. The selection committee consists of the executive boards of the CLSS and HS/YALSS, plus one representative from Charlotte Decker’s local Cincinnati Chapter.

Past Charlotte Decker Award Winners


Annette Thibodeaux


Theresa Averbeck


Jean R. Bostley, SSJ


Rose Marie Anthony, OP