2019 News

2020 Regina Medal Award Winner - Christopher Paul Curtis


Christopher Paul Curtis was awarded both a Newbery Honor and a Coretta Scott King Honor for his debut book, The Watsons Go to Birmingham—1963, and won the Newbery Medal and the Coretta Scott King Award for his second book, Bud, Not Buddy. Mr. Curtis is also the author of the Golden Kite Award-winning Bucking the Sarge, as well as The Journey of Little Charlie, a 2018 National Book Award finalist for Young People’s Literature, The Mighty Miss Malone, and two previous books in The Buxton Chronicles: The Madman of Piney Woods, the Newbery Honor book Elijah of Buxton.


2020 Jerome Award Winner - Mariological Society of America


The Mariological Society of America is a Catholic theological association dedicated to studying and making known the role of the Blessed Virgin Mary in the mystery of Christ and in the Church and in the history of salvation. Through its annual meetings and in its publications, the Society seeks to promote comprehensive and integrated study of the person and the role of the Virgin Mary so as to foster a well-informed and theologically sound devotion and spirituality.

The Mariological Society of America was founded by Fr. Juniper B. Carol, O.F.M., in October 1949. The charter members gathered for the first meeting in Washington, D.C., in January 1950. Since that time, the MSA has met annually in various cities throughout the United States. In 1954, the Society was recognized as a corporation “organized exclusively for charitable, religious, educational, and scientific purposes.” Listed in the Official Catholic Directory as one of the national organizations of the United States Catholic Conference, it is recognized as a tax-exempt organization. Since 1979, the office of the executive secretary of the MSA has been located at the Marian Library of the University of Dayton.

Gloria Dodd, STD, Promotion Committee Councilor on the MSA Administrative Council, will accept the award on behalf of the MSA at the CLA 2020 Spring Virtual Conference. Gloria is originally from Washington, D.C., and grew up as a bibliophile. Her mother had such a wonderful library of Catholic books that all of the walls of her family's living and dining rooms had bookshelves where the books were cataloged by her! She worked at the library of Christendom College as well as the library of the Dominican House of Studies, which helped her to get my current job where she answers research questions on a regular basis.


2020 St. Katharine Drexel Award Winner - Dr. Lesley Farmer


Dr. Lesley Farmer, Professor at California State University Long Beach, coordinates the Teacher Librarianship program, and manages the California State University ICT Literacy Project. She earned her M.S. in Library Science at the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill, and received her doctorate in Adult Education from Temple University. Dr. Farmer has worked as a teacher-librarian in K-12 independent and public school settings as well as in academic, public, and special libraries. She chaired the IFLA School Libraries Section, serves as IASL’s Library Education SIG chair, and is a Fulbright scholar. Among other awards, she was honored with the ALA Beta Phi Mu Award for contributions to library education, and the LIRT Librarian Recognition Award. A frequent presenter and writer for the profession, including Catholic Library World, Dr. Farmer’s research interests include information and digital literacy, technology equity issues, and assessment. Dr. Farmer’s most recent books include Managing the Successful School Library (American Library Association, 2017), Library Improvement through Data Analytics (American Library Association, 2016) and Information and Digital Literacies: A Curricular Guide for Middle and High School Librarians (Rowman & Littlefield, 2015).


2020 Aggiornamento Award Winner - FORMED


FORMED started as a collaboration between the Augustine Institute, Ignatius Press, and Lighthouse Catholic Media as a way to connect all Catholics, parishes and Catholic organizations with the best Catholic content to help them grow and share their faith. The initiative provides Catholic content from more than sixty organizations on a platform that can be streamed to TV. Content includes thousands of movies, children’s programs, ebooks, audio, parish programs and studies. FORMED helps parishes, families and individuals explore their faith anywhere.

Matt Meeks is the Chief Marketing and Innovation Officer at the Augustine Institute and Director of FORMED. He previously served as Chief Digital and Marketing Officer at the LA Archdiocese and in various executive positions in the advertising and entertainment industries. Meeks will accept the Aggiornamento Award at the CLA 2020 Spring Virtual Conference on behalf of FORMED.

Matt’s background in media, creative, digital, communications, and analytics is strengthened by his global perspective and passion for creative thought, human expression and technology. Meeks has advised Hollywood studios, game developers and publishers, celebrity talent and tech startups from an enterprise, brand, product and campaign standpoint with an exemplary track record recruiting, training and managing driven teams that achieve success and positively impact the bottom-line.