Structure & Governance

The Catholic Library Association is a not for profit membership organization founded in 1921 as a section of the then Catholic Educational Association now the National Catholic Educational Association. In 1931 it became an independent organization. The Association supports the mission of the Catholic Church by providing library services and resources.

CLA Strategic Plan

A copy of the Strategic Plan for the Catholic Library can be downloaded as a PDF here.

Officers' Manual – Updated Edition – 2016

The CLA executive board approved the revised edition of the Officers’ Manual and CLA By-laws. The revisions update our Association guidelines and make it easier for individuals to get involved in CLA!

The Catholic Library Association represents all segments of the library community. Membership is open to all persons, institutions, and organizations interested in the purposes of the Catholic Library Association. Through CLA, our members initiate, foster and encourage activities and library programs that promote literature and libraries, not only of a Catholic nature but also of an ecumenical spirit.

CLA is governed by an appointed executive director, elected officers and an elected executive board.

The structure of the Catholic Library Association allows for the creation of interest groups for members concerned with a special or common topic, problem or work. These interest groups, whether Sections or Round Tables, are administrative divisions of the Association.

Executive Board

Name Position Email
N. Curt LeMay President
Jack Fritts Vice President/Treasurer
Mary Kelleher Past President
Elyse Hayes (2018) Board Member
Kathryn Shaughnessy (2018) Board Member
Pat Lawton (2020) Board Member
Cortney Schraut (2020) Board Member
Bland O'Connor Executive Director, CLA Office
Madison Petty Association Coordinator, CLA Office