Aggiornamento Award

The Aggiornamento Award, established in 1980, is presented by the Parish and Community Library Services Section through the Aggiornamento Award Committee. It is awarded annually in recognition of an outstanding contribution made by an individual or an organization for the renewal of parish and community life in the spirit of Saint John XXIII (1881-1963).

2020 Aggiornamento Award Winner - FORMED


FORMED started as a collaboration between the Augustine Institute, Ignatius Press, and Lighthouse Catholic Media as a way to connect all Catholics, parishes and Catholic organizations with the best Catholic content to help them grow and share their faith. The initiative provides Catholic content from more than sixty organizations on a platform that can be streamed to TV. Content includes thousands of movies, children’s programs, ebooks, audio, parish programs and studies. FORMED helps parishes, families and individuals explore their faith anywhere.

Matt Meeks is the Chief Marketing and Innovation Officer at the Augustine Institute and Director of FORMED. He previously served as Chief Digital and Marketing Officer at the LA Archdiocese and in various executive positions in the advertising and entertainment industries. Meeks will accept the Aggiornamento Award at the CLA 2020 Spring Virtual Conference on behalf of FORMED.

Matt’s background in media, creative, digital, communications, and analytics is strengthened by his global perspective and passion for creative thought, human expression and technology. Meeks has advised Hollywood studios, game developers and publishers, celebrity talent and tech startups from an enterprise, brand, product and campaign standpoint with an exemplary track record recruiting, training and managing driven teams that achieve success and positively impact the bottom-line.


Past Aggiornamento Award Recipients

2019 Fr. Peter John Cameron

2018 Fr. James Martin

2017 Fr. Patrick Martin

2016 The Marian Library

2015 Doug Keck (read more)

2014 Susan Muto

2013 Sr. Ann Shields

2012 Reverend Anthony F. Rigoli, OMI

2011 Reverend Robert Barron

2010 Oregon Catholic Press (website)

2009 Allan Figueroa Deck, SJ

2008 Monsignor Joseph M. Champlin

2007 Reverend Andrew M. Greeley (website)

2006 RENEW International (website)

2005 Edwina Gateley (website)

2004 Reverend William J. Bausch

2003 Gabe Huck

2002 Reverend Robert J. Hater

2001 Maureen Gallagher

2000 St. Anthony Messenger Press

1999 Liguori Publications

1998 Pauline Books and Media

1997 Scepter Press

1996 Bishop Thomas J. Welsh

1995 Our Sunday Visitor

1994 Resource Publications

1993 Anthony Scannell, OFM Cap.

1992 Phyllis Vos Wezeman

1991 Twenty-Third Publications

1990 Monsignor Philip J. Murnion

1989 Sister Mariella Frye

1988 Orbis Books

1987 Matthew R. Wilt

1986 Mary Page Irwin

1985 Monsignor Charles Dollen

1984 Jane Hindman

1983 Claudia Carlin, IHM

1982 Reverend Angelo U. Garbin

1981 Bernadette Young

1980 Reverend Vincent Schneider