Jerome Award

The Jerome Award, established in 1992, is presented by the Academic Libraries, Archives, and Library Education Section through the Jerome Award Committee. Named after St. Jerome, Doctor of the Church (331-420), patron of librarians, it is awarded in recognition of outstanding contribution and commitment to excellence in scholarship which embody the ideals of the Catholic Library Association.

2023 Jerome Award Winner -Sister Patricia Wittberg



Patricia Wittberg is a Sister of Charity of Cincinnati, Ohio. She holds a Ph.D. in Sociology from the University of Chicago and is emerita professor of Sociology at Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis. Presently, she is a Research Associate with the Center for Applied Research in the Apostolate at Georgetown University. She has published widely on Catholicism, especially on Catholic religious orders and Catholic parishes.


Jerome Award Recipients

2022 Wm. B. Eerdmans Publishing Company

2021 Ignatius Press

2020 Mariological Society of America

2019 Charlie Camosy

2018 Fr. Bryan Massingale

2017 Dr. Massimo Faggioli

2016 Katarina Schuth, O.S.F.

2015 John O'Malley, SJ (read more)

2014 Bernard McGinn

2013 Leslie Woodcock Tentler

2012 Barbara E. Reid. OP

2011 Dr. Elisabeth Schüssler Fiorenza

2010 Rev. Virgilio Elizondo

2009 Rev. Peter C. Phan

2008 Rev. David Tracy

2007 Origins, Documentary Service-CNS (website)

2006 Jay P. Dolan

2005 Joseph A. Fitzmyer, SJ

2004 Elizabeth A. Johnson, CSJ (website)

2003 Avery Cardinal Dulles, SJ (website)

2002 Monika K. Hellwig

2001 Orbis Books (website)

2000 Richard A. McCormick, SJ

1999 Walter J. Burghardt, SJ

1998 Liturgical Press, Michael Naughton, OSB (website)

1997 Raymond E. Brown, SS

1996 Roland E. Murphy, O.Carm.

1995 Cistercian Publications (website)

1994 Donald Senior, CP

1993 Claudia Carlen, IHM

1992 Michael Glazier